Parador de Cangas de Onís. Monasterio de San Pedro de Villanueva

Villanueva de Cangas, s/n 33550 Cangas de Onís Asturias

Parador de Cangas de Onis

Hotel 4

Villanueva de Cangas, S/N. CANGAS DE ONIS

Description

Tradition has it that King Alfonso I 'The Catholic' constructed this building on 21 February 746, and the excavations carried out at the start of the refurbishing work to turn it into a hotel confirm this theory. The current monastery was founded on this site and was run by the Order of San Benito until the Desamortización of 1835 (Large-scale selling of State and Church assets). Two rooms with archaeological remains, pottery in particular, uncovered during the refurbishing work are testament to this distant past. The town centre of Cangas de Onis lies some 1 1/2 km away and it is around 95 km to Oviedo-Aviles Airport. The monastery was declared a National Monument in 1907, and features an extension wing which is harmonious in architectural and constructional style: a jewel set on the green banks of the River Sella, in whose waters the hotel building is reflected. In the background, guests can contemplate the majestic landscape of the Picos de Europa. This historical, family friendly hotel, featuring comfortable and modern facilities, is the ideal base from which to discover the delights of the Asturian landscape, to enjoy its traditional local festivals and ancestral folklore and to sample the best and most authentic of its rich gastronomic tradition. The hotel is ideal for holidaymakers and business travellers alike, and comprises a total of 64 rooms. The following facilities are on offer to guests: air conditioning, a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, 3 lifts, a café, a TV lounge, a restaurant, and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the WLAN/Internet access (charges apply), and the room and laundry services (an additional fee applies to both). There is parking for those arriving by car and a playground for younger guests.

×